Programme 2011

The Jazz Club is not currently booking visiting acts. However, we're still running our popular Jazz Café.

This is our attempt to open up the club to as large and varied a group of local and not-so-local residents as possible. To this end, it works in a different way to most other music events. Drop in and leave as you like - there's no need to be there at the start or stay until the end if you don't want. Chatting whilst the band plays is positively encouraged (so bring your friends along), as is wandering off to the bar. Kids are also very welcome, as long as they bring their grown-ups. And we try to keep the door price as low as we can.

Music is courtesy of the Katie Elliott Trio/Quartet - Katie on piano with Thad Kelly (bass), Andy Tween (drums) and sometimes Jake McMurchie (saxes). Additional 'sitters-in' are a regular feature. If you're a musician who'd like to do a turn, please contact us beforehand. Singers are particularly welcome.

Unless it says otherwise, all events are at the Chipping Hall, doors open 7.30 and the music starts around 8. 2 entry for under-18s.

Sat 8 Jan  Jazz Café 5 (4)

With Dave Goodier (bass). Theme: Songs from the Musicals.

Sun 16 Jan  'Pianothon' Donations

12 hours of Katie on piano plus whoever else comes along to join in. 10am - 10pm. In aid of Under the Edge Arts and Wotton swimming pool.

Sat 5 Feb  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Theme: The Songs of Lennon and McCartney.

Sat 5 Mar  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Theme: TV Favourites.

Sat 2 Apr  Jazz Café 5 (4)

With Jake McMurchie (saxophones), Jim Barr (double bass) and Clive Deamer (drums). Theme: The Songs of George and Ira Gershwin. Please note change to programme.

Sat 7 May  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Theme: Film Themes.

Sat 4 Jun  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Theme: Motown Favourites.

Sat 2 Jul  Jazz Café 5 (4)

With Ben Thomas (trumpet), Martin Harvey (double bass) and Tony Orrell (drums). Theme: The Music of Miles Davis. Please note change to programme.

Sat 6 Aug  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Theme: Children's Favourites.
A special family event. Music starts at 7.00. Family ticket 10.
With some demonstrations and explanations of how jazz works and what we're doing as we play.

Sat 3 Sep  Jazz Café 5 (4)

No Katie! Martin (bass) and Andy (drums) are joined by special friends Anders Olinder (piano) and Craig Crofton (tenor sax)
Theme: The music of Duke Ellington

Sat 1 Oct  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Katie and Martin, with Trevor Davies (drums) and Andy Christie (guitar)
Theme: Jazz meets Ska

Sat 5 Nov  Jazz Café 5 (4)

Theme: Latin Lounge

Sat 3 Dec  Jazz Café CANCELLED

 

UNDER THE EDGE JAZZ CLUB